Alberto Giacometti

Eyes on the Horizon

Alberto Giacometti

The greater part of an oeuvre that would become one of the most significant bodies of work in the fine arts of the 20th century was created over a period of several decades in a small studio in Paris: the sculptures, paintings and drawings of Alberto Giacometti (1901–1966).

Alberto Giacometti – Eyes on the Horizon is a cinematic journey through an extraordinary universe that begins with Giacometti himself. This is made possible because the artist spent most of his life writing as well: reflections, diary-like sketches, analyses of his own work, descriptions of dreams, remarks and essays about his artist colleagues and memories. Giacometti’s Ecrits (Writings) define the compelling visual motifs of the film.

Viewers also see Giacometti from a different angle, through the memories of his friends, of those who worked with him and learned from him -- and miss him. A Giacometti portrait, sketched by his friends and the lovers of his art – unfinished, mirroring the spirit of the artist himself.

Alberto Giacometti

Alberto Giacometti

Alberto Giacometti

Alberto Giacometti

Die Augen am Horizont

Alberto Giacometti

In einem kleinen Atelier in Paris entstand über Jahrzehnte der Grossteil eines Werkes, das zu den bedeutendsten der bildenden Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts gehört: die Plastiken, Gemälde und Zeichnungen Alberto Giacomettis (1901–1966).
«Alberto Giacometti – Die Augen am Horizont» ist eine filmische Reise durch eine einzigartige Kunst- und Lebenswelt, deren Ausgangspunkt Giacometti selbst ist. Denn sein Leben lang hat der Künstler auch geschrieben: Reflexionen, tagebuchartige Skizzen, Analytisches über die eigene Arbeit, Aufzeichnungen von Träumen, Aufsätze über Künstlerkollegen, Erinnerungen. Giacomettis «Ecrits» (Schriften) geben zwingend die Bildmotive des Films vor.
Der zweite Blick auf Giacometti ist die Erinnerung derer, die mit ihm befreundet waren, mit ihm zusammengearbeitet haben, von ihm geprägt wurden und – ihn vermissen. Ein Giacometti-Porträt der Freunde und Kenner seines Werks, ganz im Sinne des Künstlers: durchaus unfertig.

Alberto Giacometti

Alberto Giacometti

Alberto Giacometti